PSC Confirms Promotion Of Magu, 5 Others As AIG

PSC Confirms Promotion Of Magu, 5 Others As AIG
Ibrahim Magu.

Police Service Commission (PSC) has confirmed the promotion of Ibrahim Magu and five others as Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG).

Magu is former acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) but got suspended over fraud charges.

Read Also: Magu Is Being Investigated For Corruption Allegations, Not Yet Tried – Adesina

Ikechukwu Ani, PSC spokesperson, announced the development in a statement issued on Monday, adding that 23 Deputy Commissioners of Police were promoted to Commissioners of Police and 31 Assistant Commissioners to Deputy Commissioners of Police.

AIG Magu Ibrahim, who is proceeding on retirement, is the most senior in the CP cadre and missed the last two promotions after returning to the Police from the EFCC.

Read Also: Panel Questions EFCC Directors, Quizzes Magu Over 380 Houses, Oil-Laden Vessels, N37bn

This is just as the PSC confirmed the promotion of Mr. John Ogbonnaya Amadi as a Deputy Inspector General of Police, to take over from late DIG Joseph Egbunike who represented South East in the Police Management team. Also promoted DIG is Zana Bala Senchi.

The other Commissioners of Police promoted to AIG are CP Abraham Egong Ayim; Okunlola Kola Kamaldeen; Andrew Amieengheme; Akeera Mohammed Younous; Celestine Amechi Elumelu; Ngozi Vivian Onadeko and Danladi Bitrus Lalas (Airwing).

Read Also: I Didn’t Buy N573m Property On Magu’s Behalf – Prophet Omale Denies Money Laundering Allegation

The new 23 Commissioners of Police are;

Taiwo Olusola Jesubiyi, former DC,    Admin and Finance, Akwa Ibom State Command;  Kolawole Olajide former DC, Force CID Annex, Alagbon, Lagos; Julius Alawari Okoro, former DC, Maritime, Lagos; Adelesi Ebunoluwa Oluwarotimi, former DC DFA, Kwara State Command; George Chijioke Chuku, fomer DC Ops Ebonyi State Command; Paul Alifa Omata, former DC Ops, Kwara State Command; and Effiong Dominic Edem, former DC Ops, Zone 2 Lagos. Others are  Yusuf Adesina Akeem, presently at the National Defence College; Mary Gbemudu George, former DC, Anti Human Trafficking Abuja; Etim Oqua Efiom, former DC Ops FHQ, Abuja; Mohammed Yakubu, former DC SCID Anambra Command; Ganiyu Alhaji Salami, former DC ZCID Zone11 Osogbo; Magaji Kontagora Ahmed, former, DC Ops, Lagos State Command; and Kolo Yusufu, presently O/c IGP Special Tactical Squad & TIU.

Read Also: ‘EFCC Auctioned Recovered Vehicles To Presidential Villa, FIRS, Other Agencies’ – Magu

Also promoted CPs are;

Bzigu Yakaba Kwazhi Dali, presently on secondment to ECOWAS Commission, Guinea, Bisau; Ahmed Ammani, presently at the National Defence College;  Afolabi Babatola Adeniyi, former DC, Ops Yobe State Command; Njoku Henry Eronini, former DC, JTF, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State; Abiodun Oladimeji Asabi; Dankwara Adamu Mohammed, former DC, SPU FHQ, Abuja; Mohammed Usaini Gumel, former DC TIU FHQ, Abuja; Ogundele Ayodeji, former DC Central Intelligence, Force CID Annex, Lagos and Idris Nagoyo, former 2i/c Force Animal branch.

Read Also: Interest On Recovered N550bn Re-Looted Under Magu – Panel

The development comes amid Magu’s expected retirement from the Nigeria Police Force (NPF), having clocked the mandatory retirement age of 60 on May 5.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.