Sanwo-Olu Leads LP’s Rhodes-Vivour With Over 400,000 Votes



Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has cleared 18 of the 20 local government (LGs) in the March 18 governorship election conducted in the state.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and incumbent who is seeking reelection has 718,595 votes at the collation of 15 local government results on Sunday.

Sanwo-Olu is ahead of Labour Party (LP)’s Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour who presently has 257,502 from the 15 LGs announced so far.

ALSO READ: Desmond Elliot Re-elected As Lagos Lawmaker

The LP candidate won Amuwo Odofin LG while Sanwo-Olu won Lagos Island, Apapa, Epe, Agege, Ajeromi Ifelodun, Ikeja, Mushin, Surulere, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Badagry, Lagos Mainland, Alimisho, Ojo, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, and Somolu.

The governor is also ahead of his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) counterpart, Olajide Adediran aka Jandor who has 59,172 votes from the 15 local governments.

ALSO READ: Igbos Reportedly Disenfranchised In Lagos Polls As Political Thugs Attack Voters

The state collation officer said votes were still being expected from one more local government — Eti-Osa — which covers the Victoria Garden City (VGC) where elections were shifted in 10 polling units from Saturday to Sunday.

The state collation officer adjourned till 5pm ton Sunday.

Governorship elections were held in 28 of Nigeria’s 36 states on Saturday. The governorship and state assembly elections were held a week later than initially scheduled after a court case forced INEC to move them forward.

Eight of the 36 states — Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun, and Ondo — have governorship elections “off-season” due to litigations and court judgements.

In alphabetical order, the 28 states where governorship elections were on March 18 are Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.

Of the 28 states, 11 serving governors including Sanwo-Olu are seeking reelection while 17 outgoing governors are in the final weeks of their constitutional two-term limits of eight years, having been sworn in on May 29, 2015.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.