Super League: EPL ‘Big Six’ To Pay £22m Over Failed Breakaway Plot


Super League: EPL ‘Big Six’ To Pay £22m Over Failed Breakaway PlotEnglish Premier League (EPL) announced on Wednesday that the “big six” clubs who signed up to join the failed breakaway European Super League (ESL) have agreed to a collective fine of £22 million.

In a joint statement issued on Wednesday, EPL and FA said the clubs — Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham — have also agreed to rule changes that would impose a 30-point deduction in the event of similar actions in the future.

Read Also: European Super League Collapses As Clubs Withdraw

EPL traditional “big six” were among the 12 founding members of the widely denounced super league — a breakaway tournament from glamorous UEFA Champions League (UCL) — that was announced back in April.

The tournament, however, hit a snag about 48 hours after a widespread outrage led to the six English clubs rescinding their involvement.

Read Also: Explainer: Key Facts About European Super League

In the statement, EPL and FA also told the clubs that they will be hit with £25m fines in addition to 30-point deduction should they agree to join a breakaway league in the future.

The statement reads;

The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game.

They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA.

As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22million, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.

Read Also: UEFA Sanctions Nine Clubs Over Super League Project

It added;

Furthermore, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction. Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.

The Premier League and The FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion.

Read Also: European Super League: UEFA Opens Proceedings Against Barcelona, Juventus, Real Madrid

While all English clubs have dumped the ESL proposal, Real Madrid, Juventus and Barcelona are still clinging on to the failed project.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.