Kano Assembly Speaker, Majority Leader Resign As House Elects New Officials

Kano Assembly Speaker, Majority Leader Resign As House Elects New Officials

Kano State House of Assembly Speaker, Abdulazeez Garba-Gafasa.

Kano State House of Assembly Speaker, Abdulazeez Garba-Gafasa, and the Majority Leader, Kabiru Dashi, have resigned on Monday, December 14.

The Speaker announced his resignation in a letter titled ‘Notification of Resignation’ dated December 14 and addressed to the Clerk and Permanent Secretary.

The resignation was confirmed to the News Agency of Nigeria on Tuesday in Kano, by the Press Secretary to the speaker, Nura Ajingi.

Garba-Garfasa, in his resignation letter, said his decision was based on personal reasons, adding that he appreciated the support of all the members.

Although no reason was given for the resignation, it is believed to be related to recent primaries of the ruling party in the state and inability of the former speaker to demand payment of members allowances and other welfare packages from the executive arm of government.

Recent primaries of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) for the forthcoming local government elections in Kano State caused disaffection among party leaders after some members accused the state government and the party leadership of perpetrating injustice in the exercise.

Member representing Kano Municipal in the House of Representatives, Sha’aban Sharada, alleged that the party’s leadership in Kano Municipal Local Government Area replaced delegates loyal to him prior to the primaries.

Meanwhile, Dashi, the majority leader, in a one-paragraph letter, addressed to the Clerk, did not state the reason for his resignation.

Also in an interview with NAN, the Clerk of the Assembly, Abdullahi Alfa, confirmed the receipt of the resignation letters of the two lawmakers.

Following the new development,  Kano State House of Assembly elected Hamisu Chidari as the new speaker.

Chidari emerged speaker following his nomination by the lawmaker representing Wudil constituency in the Assembly, Abdullahi Achika.

The House also elected the lawmaker representing Albasu constituency, Zubairu Masu, as deputy speaker, Labaran Madari (Warawa constituency) as majority leader and Abdullahi Yaryasa (Tudunwada) as deputy majority leader.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.