Coronavirus Infection Toll Now 305 As NCDC Confirms 17 New Cases


Total Coronavirus infection toll in Nigeria now 305 as Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) confirms 17 new cases on Friday night. 

The centre in a tweet made this known, revealing that 8 cases were reported in Lagos, 3 in Katsina, 2 in FCT and one case each in Niger, Kaduna, Anambra and Ondo state. 

The breakdown of Coronavirus cases per state, according to the centre, is as follows; 163 cases in Lagos, FCT- 56, Osun- 20, Edo- 12, Oyo- 11, Bauchi- 6, Akwa Ibom- 5, Ogun- 7, Kaduna- 6, Katsina- 4, and two cases each in Enugu, Ekiti, Ondo, Rivers, Kwara and Delta. 

Other states with one case each are Benue, Niger and Anambra. 

There are now 305 total number of Coronavirus cases, 58 discharged cases and 7 deaths. 

The NCDC had on Thursday night announced that fourteen new Coronavirus cases were confirmed in Nigeria – 13 in Lagos and 1 in Delta State.

This was made known in an official tweet from the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), adding that there were 288 confirmed cases of COVID-19, fifty-one discharged and seven deaths.

Meanwhile, the Presidential Task Force (PTF) for the Control of Coronavirus (COVID-19), has said it has successfully traced over 8,932 people of interest and is still monitoring 220 others.

Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the Minister of Information and Culture, who is also a member of the PTF, disclosed this on Friday in Abuja while giving an update on the activities of the Task Force in an appearance on television show.

Speaking on transportation of COVID-19 into the country through the land borders, the Minister stated that the international laws and Nigeria’s Constitution allows a Nigerian national into the country.

According to him, upon entry from other neighboring, the returnees are quarantined in either Ogun and Lagos state for a mandatory period of 14 days for proper monitoring.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.