A Spell Of Good Things: Sophomore Novel By Nigerian Author Ayobami Adebayo Makes 2023 Man Booker List


Ayobami Adebayo

The sophomore book by Nigerian novelist Ayobami Adebayo “A Spell of Good Things,” has been included on the long list for The Booker Prize along with 12 other books. She would become the second Nigerian-born winner, following Ben Okri, and the fifth Nigerian novelist to be given consideration for the prestigious award.

Read Also: FIFA Indicts NFF, Pledges To Pay World Cup Prize Money Directly To Super Falcons Players’ Accounts (VIDEO)

The 13 longlisted works for The Booker Prize “explore universal and topical themes,” including emotionally moving human dramas and tragi-comic family sagas; the effects of climate change and minority oppression; and scientific advancements and competitive sport.

The 2023 Booker Prize Longlist
The 2023 Booker Prize Longlist

In September, a shortlist of six books out of 13 longlisted books will be announced. The winner will be announced at an event at Old Billingsgate, London, on November 26, 2023, and will go home with a cash prize of £50,000. £2,500 will be awarded to each of the six shortlisted authors.

Ayobami Adebayo is the author of Stay With Me and A Spell of Good Things. She holds B.A. and M.A. degrees in Literature in English from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, Nigeria, and an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia (UK) where she was awarded an international bursary for creative writing.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.