Osun Election: We Lost Due To Disagreement Among Party Members — APC Chairman, Adamu Reveals


National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu has said that the Osun State governorship election last Saturday was lost by the ruling party, because of what “happened between some party members close to the election.

The APC national chairman, who has come under scrutiny recently, stated this during an interview with the BBC Hausa Service on Tuesday.

Read Also: Oyetola: Osun Gov Appeals To Supporters For Calm After Loss At Polls

According to him, the APC will now return to the drawing board “and change our tactics.”

Adamu stated:

This has shown that we have a big task ahead. We must see what we can do and change our tactics. We must look at ourselves; see if what we are doing in this political journey is right. What are those things that are not right? What needs to be corrected so that we get what will lead to success in our journey?

He added;

In politics like in other worldly affairs, one could win or lose. There’s nothing we can do. But we were defeated not because we are not good in politics; it was because of what happened between some party members close to the election.

Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had defeated Governor Gboyega Oyetola of the ruling APC with 403,371 votes to 375,077 votes.

Read Also: Adeleke: Osun Gov-Elect Reiterates Commitment To Five-Point Agenda

Adeleke won in 17 local government areas including Olorunda, Ede South, Orolu, Osogbo, Odo Otin, Ifelodun, Atakumosa, and Ila.

Meanwhile, Governor Oyetola won in 13 local government areas including Iwo, Ayedaade, Ife South and Ife East.

The 2022 Osun governorship election took place in all the 30 local government areas of the state with 3,763 polling units and 332 registration areas.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.