CJN Swears In Dongban-Mensem As Appeal Court President

Monica Dongban-Mensem
Monica Dongban-Mensem

Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, has sworn in Monica Dongban-Mensem as the president of the Court of Appeal.

The swearing-in ceremony held on Friday at the conference room of the CJN’s office in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

Justice Muhammad during the event implored the newly sworn-in appellate court president to discharge her duties to the court without fear or favour.

He also advised her to work closely with presiding justices of the Court of Appeal to achieve great strides in the nation’s judicial system.

Muhammed added;

Certainly, you will see that there is no court in this country that has the number of justices that the Court of Appeal has. Therefore, that shows you that the Court of Appeal is home of work, the Court of Appeal is home of cooperation; you have to cooperate together, all of you from top to bottom so that the work will continue to progress.

He stressed that;

From my personal experience, workload in the court of appeal, especially in the divisions, is the highest. It is a home of work, it is a home of cooperation, but with your experience, hardwork, and zeal, you will not find your new status difficult.

The appeal court president assured Nigerians that she will do her best in ensuring that justice continues to prevail at the court.

President Buhari had approved the appointment of Justice Dongban-Mensem to act as the President of the Court of Appeal from March 6, for an initial period of three months, following the retirement of Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa.

After completion of the initial period, the President announced on June 8 that he had forwarded the name of Justice Dongban-Mensem to the Senate for confirmation, in line with the recommendation of the National Judicial Council.

Read Also: Senate Receives Buhari’s Request To Confirm Dongban-Mensem As Court Of Appeal President

Lawmakers in the Senate later confirmed Justice Dongban-Mensem as the President of the Court of Appeal.

She is the second female president of the court of appeal after Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa.

See some photos from the swearing-in below;

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.